News Headlines:

NOFFS Strength Series

The Strength Series helps to develop the strength that is needed to perform at the highest of levels.  There are three training phases within the series intended to progressively build a user’s total work capacity and improve cardiovascular fitness: Build Muscle, Get Strong, Get Powerful.


Phase 1- Build Muscle :

Focuses on building lean muscle mass and improving the body’s capacity to handle greater physical demands through higher volumes of work and a progressive increase in intensity.


Phase 2- Get Strong:

Focuses on building strength through fewer repetitions and higher intensity.


Phase 3- Get Powerful: 

Focuses on building strength through fewer repetitions and higher intensity.  Harnesses the newfound strength and trains your muscles to be fast and forceful.


How to Set Up Your Schedule

1. Each phase in this series has 2 training days, Workout A and Workout B.

2. Complete 3 to 4 training sessions per week, alternating between Workout A and Workout B.

3. Aim for no more than 2 consecutive training days each week. For example, if you do Workout A on Monday and Workout B on Tuesday, Wednesday should be a recovery day.

4. Add a recovery day to break up more than 2 consecutive training days and give your body the rest it needs to perform more efficiently. Recovery days can include a combination of light activity, stretching, low-intensity cardio, and massage.

Workout Duration

Each workout has three duration options: 45 minutes, 60 minutes, 75 minutes

If the movements in these workouts are new to you, it may take longer than the duration specified to complete your workouts. As you become familiar with the movements, you will be able to complete them in the allotted time.

Within each Strength workout, there are multiple circuits. You should perform each circuit by completing each exercise in succession with little to no rest between exercises or sets. Once you have completed all of the sets in a circuit, rest 1 to 2 minutes before starting the next circuit.


How the Stages Work:

Each phase in the Strength Series has 3 progressive stages across Pillar Prep, Movement Prep, and Strength. As you advance through the stages, you will notice that the repetitions, time, or number of circuits you perform may change. Advance to the next stage of training after every 4 workouts-this means after you have completed Workout A and Workout B twice (ABAB). Once you complete the final stage in the phase, progress to the next phase.

Cardiovascular Training Tips:

The cardio workouts in the Strength Series are interval-based, meaning you will vary your effort within a single workout to improve your cardio fitness. Each workout consists of one or more training zones; each zone represents a level of effort (Easy, Medium, and Hard). But how do you know you are exercising at the right effort? You can perform these interval workouts by measuring your effort in one or two ways: (i) heart rate training, or (ii) rate of perceived exertion.

Heart Rate Training

One way to calculate your training zones is based on your maximum heart rate (Max HR). If you have a heart rate monitor, you can measure your heart rate as you train to stay in each zone. If you don’t know your Max HR, you can estimate it by using the following formula: Max HR = 220 – your age.

Once you have calculated your approximate Max HR, use the percentage below to determine your heart rate training zone for each interval.

Rate of Perceived Exertion

Your rate of perceived exertion (RPE) is a simple and effective way to determine your training intensity when performing intervals. RPE uses a scale of 1-10 to rate your effort. A rating of 1 is equivalent to standing still, while a rating of 10 represents the most strenuous level of activity you can sustain. Use these guidelines to put forth the right effort level for each interval.